If a child exceeds the weight AND height restrictions of a forward-facing car seat, they can start using a booster seat. The seat belt should be fastened on the child`s shoulder (not near the neck) and on the body. Children in this age group who use a booster seat should always sit in the back seat of the vehicle. Children should remain in a booster seat until they are 4 feet 9 inches tall and between 8 and 12 years old. However, children must sit in the back seat until they have met this size requirement AND are 13 years old. The state has no official obligation for children to sit in the front seat. However, there is a law that states that rear-facing seats should not be installed in the front seat. The state also recommends that children sit in the back of a car until age 13. This is supported by most experts, who say that the rear seat is generally safer, regardless of whether there are no airbags installed on the front seat or not. Mississippi recommends keeping children rearward facing until they meet one of the following requirements: According to the Mississippi State Department of Health (MSDH), car accidents are the leading cause of child death. It is estimated that one-third of children fatally injured in crashes do not sit in car seats, booster seats or seat belts.

If your child is injured in a car accident, our lawyers are ready to help your family in case of need. Contact Chatham Gilder Howell Pittman to learn more about your legal rights. While there have been experts and activists across the country who have worked to pass child restraint laws, Dr. Robert Sanders and his wife Pat are widely credited with passing Tennessee`s first law. The above requirements are just the bare minimum you need to follow, but keep in mind that there are other car seat best practices that can improve your children`s safety: Continue to follow elevation and front seat laws (or expert guidelines) to make sure your child is well protected on the road. Before that, the only types of child seats for cars were child seats, which simply lifted children higher in the seat, but had no safety features and had been manufactured since the 1930s. Seat belts and car seats save hundreds of lives in Mississippi every year. That is why the state prescribes the use of car seats in certain situations. If you have a child or regularly carry children in your personal vehicle, it`s important to understand and comply with the state`s car seat laws.

According to section 63-7-301 of the Highway Traffic and Motor Vehicle Act, drivers must provide a child restraint system or a child restraint system when transporting a child under four years of age. In case of violation of the law, the driver may be fined. In the following years, all U.S. states passed and implemented child restraint laws, and all states enacted laws in 1986. All children under the age of 13 must be restrained in the back seats of vehicles. Your child`s age doesn`t matter when choosing the safest car seat. The American Academy of Pediatricians recommends using seats in this order as long as they suit you: That`s why car seats are mandatory in all U.S. states until a certain age (some states also have booster and front seat laws), and why the American Academy of Pediatrics and CDC recommend using some form of child restraint system in vehicles. until the children are old enough to be protected by a car Built-in safety features (4`9″). Currently, there are no laws to leave children alone in a vehicle. As a parent, you want nothing more than to bring your child to safety. From the moment you leave the hospital until you make your way to football practice, it`s important to understand the state`s car seat laws.

Standard passenger cars and their safety features, such as seat belts and airbags, are designed for adults. Because of their size, children are at a higher risk of injury in the event of an accident. When using a car seat properly, a young occupant is less likely to be injured in a collision. Let`s take a look at Mississippi`s car seat laws. Children between the ages of 4 and 7 are required by law to use booster seats. By law, a booster seat must be used if the child is less than 4 feet 9 inches tall and weighs less than 65 pounds. While there is no law governing the age at which children are allowed to drive in the front seat of a car, the state of Mississippi recommends that children under the age of 13 remain in the back seat primarily because of their height. There is no law covering situations where children are left in vehicles. We do not recommend leaving your child unattended in a vehicle for long periods of time.